The 2014 Rose Queen is…

…not as easy for me to guess as 2013 Rose Queen of The Pasadena Tournament of Roses (PTOR).

The next time I write on this website we will all know who was selected as the 96th Queen of the 125th Tournament of Roses. Last year, as soon as I saw the Royal Court I said to myself, “she should be the one!”  “She” was Vanessa Natalie Manjarrez of Mayfield Senior School. 

The PTOR evidently agreed with me.  At the announcement of the 2014 Royal Court earlier this month, I mentioned to the 2013 Queen Mother how I just knew her daughter so stood out that she had to be the Queen.  Mom was touched to the point that, had I continued, I probably would have brought her to tears.

 

 

This year which lucky Princess will rise to be Queen is truly a guessing game, since no girl stands out even with my sharp canine eyes..  However, I sense this group is one of the more enthusiastic or energetic in recent years.  Nevertheless, I’m gonna try to pick out the Queen in this article, if only for the fun of it and to see if I have any magical powers of royal selection leftover from last year!

Second things, second:  I am acquainted with the parents of one Princess and I know at least two Princesses are a readers of this blog.  Beyond that, my knowledge of this Royal Court is limited solely to what I’ve read, such as the PTOR press release, and what I’ve personally seen of them, which is just above the level of zero.

 

Lettuce start. I’m simply going make a couple of observations on each candidate which I believe may or may not be in her favor to be chosen Queen. Again, this is strictly guessing made on very limited information.

 

IMG_4581a The 2014 Royal Court (left to right): Jamie, Sarah, Ana, Katherine, Elyssia, Elizabeth, and Kayla

 

Jamie: She has been captain of her varsity school cheer team, V.P. of the Support Our Troops Club, and President of her school’s National Honor Society.  She loves France & French food.  She’s shown leadership qualities and shown willing to take responsibility. She seems very friendly, adorable, and a cute smile. I think we all would love to have a daughter like her in our families!  Yet, she appears to be the youngest as well.

Sarah: She teaches pre-school, plays musical instruments, and performs as a dancer, ballerina, and in theater.  She’s a college student – the only non-high schooler among this group. And the oldest at 19!   From this she’s shown leadership and responsibility, and an openness to be out in front of an audience.  I sense also a caring attitude and touch of elegance in her. Maybe this is partly why she seems to have a lot of friends and support. And, like me, loves to eat  Her age would also suggest she may be the most mature.

Ana: She may be, arguably, the Miss Photogenic of this bunch of cuties. Captain of her varsity equestrian team, cabinet member of the Girls Service League, on her school’s Ambassadors Council, and participates in the National Charity League. A Girl Scout who is working toward a Gold Award.  Here again, I see responsibility, leadership, and maturity. Still, in my experience rarely does a Miss Photogenic get the top crown in anything. 

Katherine: The tallest and, seems to me, The Most Likeable! Member of her school’s Pep team, and volunteers with Brother’ Helpers to help the poor in downtown Los Angeles. She seems funny, outgoing, yet modest and humble. She was one of two Princesses which seemed the most surprised and overjoyed to be named to the court!  I see a team player, caring & conscientious attitude.

Elyssia: She’s captain of her school’s debate & speech team, head anchor of its news team, treasurer of its Acts Club. She’s a volunteer with the American Cancer Society and the Let’s Hope organization.  Another girl who shows responsibility and leadership traits.  Yet, she appears to be the most reserved. Her smile is not as “big & toothy” as the others – indeed, until I looked at my own photos, I had not found a picture of her with a smile showing her teeth!  She has communication training yet I get the feeling she would prefer to work in the background.

Elizabeth: The yearbook editor, co-captain of her varsity song team, treasurer of the Pep team, a school tutor & teacher’s assistant. She volunteers at Elizabeth House!  Loves to lead & motivate her fellow students. I witnessed a funny, expressive, modest, & outgoing sides, and loves when others do well.  She was one of two Princesses which appeared the most surprised and happy to be named to the court!

Kayla: She was the first person named to the Royal Court. On her tennis team and also plays piano, with an eye for photography. Was an intern with the LA City Attorney’s office. Participated in California Youth Think Tank which helps youth to become future leaders.  She’s shown to be both a team player and someone who can “go it alone” in the sports she played.  She carries a quiet strength and maturity.

 

So, that was a very quick recap of some of their interests/achievements and the insights I’ve gathered from my very limited exposure to them.  So, what’s the verdict (or my wild guess!)? The Envelope please…

First, lemme say who I would “like” to be Queen: the girl who literally stands above all the others, the tallest, Katherine!  But I doubt she’ll be selected.

So, who I think should be chosen as the 96th Rose Queen? As I said, this is much more difficult than choosing Vanessa last year, so I can only narrow it down to two:  SARAH ELIZABETH HANSEN and ELIZABITH KATIE WOOLF!

Why? Just a hunch, really. Sarah, as the oldest, I can feel her maturity, beautiful heart, and I see a lot of support from family and friends..  Elizabeth, I feel her leadership, plus a motherly instinct to care for and want the best for others – like Princesses

After the naming of the Royal Court, I recall asking the new chair of the Queen & Court Committee, Alex Young, what would they next be looking for from these girls which would separate one to be Rose Queen. He told me, but of course, my good memory failed me again.  So, you’ll have to do with what I noticed and your own instincts.

Soon we will all know. I hope the reigning 2013 Rose Queen, beautiful Vanessa, is able to make the coronation, since she’s attending college on the east coast, to personally hand over “the baton”.

Well, that’s my guess. Who did you think would be Queen? I’m interested to know yours and why. Clik the link below to leave a comment with your guess. There must be at least one reader who got it right.

 

Gotta Run!! Stay Thirsty My Friends

Rose wet