SOLVED!: What’s Wrong with this Picture?

I intended to post the answer to my question by last Tuesday.  Unfortunately, the unexpected death of a wonderful person I know last weekend short-circuited the writing portion of my brain for a few days.  I may later write about her, here,  in a separate article. But for now, back to the daily grind…

 

Ok, lettuce solve the question I presented here at What’s Wrong with this Picture?  The problem was contained in a Doonesbury comic strip below.  The only hint was that those with a current San Gabriel Valley or Pasadena, California background would find it easier to spot the problem or “solution”.

 

IMG_8708 

As I expected, I stumped everyone. Frankly, with this problem I’m not surprised: the subject covered journalism and specifically referred to a reporter spelled in the strip as “Geraldo.” 

Without further delay here is the problem with the above comic: the reporters name is misspelled as “Geraldo”. And, frankly, this comic probably pronounces it as “Heraldo” which is probably an improvement on the “correct” Geraldo.  That’s common & I don’t mind that.  It’s not a very common name.  Some may even find it difficult to pronounce it on the first try.

However, anyone who reads the newspaper in the San Gabriel Valley/Pasadena area would know the the correct spelling is ‘GIRARDOT.”   I’m not a name dropper, but as in Frank (or, Francis) GIRARDOT, the author/renaissance man/writer/crime fighting editor/reporter, and someone whose writings are followed by anyone from cops to politicians to even a Rockefeller, at our Pasadena Star News newspaper!  He’s been at this since at least last century so he must know what he’s doing.

My friends I don’t always have time to read a newspaper, but when I do, it’s Frank Girardot’s Pasadena Star News. And now you know, the rest of the story. Just some of Cafe Pasadena’s Believe It or Not!

 

Gotta Get Going. Stay Thirsty My Friends

P1820054a

6 responses to “SOLVED!: What’s Wrong with this Picture?