The Photographers Photographer

 

Raymond & Green Streets, Old Town Pasadena

Former home of Red White + Bluezz, Jazz Club & Restaurant

 

IMG_3430a

 

I read earlier this year how the owner of the Jazz restaurant – Red White & Bluezz – had sold it in order to concentrate on his Dog Haus eateries.

The “new management”  wasted no time in making changes. As of March 15th, RW+B has moved to the Playhouse complex. At 37 S. Molino Avenue: what has  been a life sucking space for restaurants! 

A few months prior I was discussing at Euro Pane Bakery Cafe with Sheldon Epps, the Artistic Director of the Pasadena Playhouse, the latest demise at that Playhouse location: Elements Kitchen.  He had his ideas for what type of business might be a good fit for that space.

What do you think has been happening with that Playhouse space & restaurants over the years?

 

I remember when I first heard of the Elements closure. A friend came up to me in a cafe to ask, “Hey, what happened to Elements??!!”  I hope if I ever hear that question re RW+B it’s many, many years from now.

Meanwhile, back at the old place, the only color left is Red + White.

 

Gotta Get Moving! Stay Thirsty My Friends

Pasadena Greetings

6 responses to “The Photographers Photographer

  1. Hmmm, how puzzling…you would think having a restaurant close to the theatre would be a good bet. It’s always so sad when you see a location that seems to be cursed. I hope it has better luck in its next incarnation!

  2. I’m glad I stumbled upon your post. You recommended RW&B as a birthday gift for my brother-in-law a few years ago and they absolutely loved it. When we visited, they took us and we absolutely loved it! My daughter just moved out to L.A. to get away from the cold east coast (but what worse things has she gotten herself into ?- the list could be long so I won’t go into it – great restaurants fall on the “pro” side however) and I was going to make sure that when I visit her, we will go to RW&B, now at a new location.

    • Welcome back! How’s Massachusetts weather??
      I remember that, Jasmin! I’m glad the recommendation proved itself.
      What part of LA did she move to?

  3. I never did make it to RW&B in the old location…but I did get some great photos of it!!! Glad it’s not going belly up…seems like a music venue might do ok in the playhouse setting….restaurants come and go for so many reasons…