Pasadena Heritage’s Annual Craftsman Weekend!

I was just saying how I never really know when, or what, I’ll be blogging. Well, a sudden change of topics for today!

 

Last month I was at Pasadena Heritage’s (PH) world headquarters here in Pasadena CA, USA. Helping out this wonderful preservation organization in my small unique way, when the equally wonderful & tireless Sue Mossman, Exec Direct of PH, asked me:

Are you volunteering for Craftsman Weekend this year?, and, & Do you want to docent/volunteer?

I respectfully declined, as I almost always do, unfortunately, with such questions/requests.  Frankly, I’m not good volunteer material.  The saints I know who volunteer for such great organizations, like PH or the Tournament of Roses (ToR)  just to name a couple, are better people than I.

 

 

230802_10151888815366542_1908918801_n

 

 

However, I will do something for PH. Something worth more, from me, than traditional volunteering: mention here the annual major event of PH – Craftsman Weekend!

By now, I’ve lost some of you: Pasadena Heritage? Craftsman Weekend???

Pasadena Heritage is, “a nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation of Pasadena’s architectural & cultural resources.  Pasadena Heritage is one of the oldest historic preservation groups in Southern California and the second largest in the state.  Its three goals, Awareness, Assistance and Action, have been dubbed the three A’s of preservation and have been adopted by many other groups over the years.The mission of Pasadena Heritage is to identify, preserve and protect the historic, architectural, and cultural resources of the City of Pasadena through advocacy, education, and oral histories. 

Without PH there would be no Old Pasadena, no Colorado Street Bridge, & countless historic sites, homes and neighborhoods would no longer exist.”

The annual Craftsman Weekend (Oct. 19-21)  is “a tribute to Pasadena’s unique contributions to the American Arts & Crafts Movement. Craftsman Weekend is the largest & most comprehensive celebration of the Craftsman Movement in the western USA. The Craftsman Weekend’s offerings will include a tour of significant Craftsman-era houses, a variety of bus & walking tours, exclusive evening receptions at historic sites, and exposition show & sale, lectures, presentations, & workshops.” 

That’s putting it briefly, and modestly. 

But there’s even more info here on the Craftsman Weekend,

and, here: Download the pdf Craftsman Weekend brochure w/ticket order form at this LINK!

 

I think from this short blog story on PH & the annual Craftsman Weekend you can get a feel of its positive vibes & importance. Those readers it should interest in particular are the following, imho:

  • Pasadena workers & past/present residents
  • Architecture buffs
  • History buffs
  • Preservationists
  • Those looking for something to do this weekend
  • Everyone else reading this!

 

Ok,you wanna go this weekend, but what do you have to do?

1st, I would Download the pdf Craftsman Weekend brochure at the link above. It will give you a list of the various workshops/tours/lectures you can register for. (Become a PH member, if you’re not, to receive a discount)

Then, once you know what you want to sign up for, place your order by either calling PH at (626) 441-6333, OR, online at the  PH webpage, OR, faxing the ticket order form in the Craftsman Weekend brochure you downloaded.

At this late date you’ll have to pick up your tickets, WILL CALL, at the Pasadena Convention Center (300 E. Green St) between 8:45 – 5:00pm, Saturday and Sunday. For Friday events: go directly to that particular event location.

 

If I’ve failed in answering all your questions above, please call Pasadena Heritage at (626)441-6333 for more answers. But, time is short so don’t wait!!

 

 

Gotta Figure Some Things Out! Stay Thirsty My Friends

Craftsman Weekend flyer

11 responses to “Pasadena Heritage’s Annual Craftsman Weekend!

  1. I’ve wanted to attend this event since, well, since Always. Hopefully next year the stars will align. I hope you went – I look forward to hearing about it.

  2. Sue Mossman spoke at the No on 710 forum held by Steve Madison a few weeks ago. It was great to get her perspective. Thanks for the heads up on the craftsman tour. Are dogs allowed?

    • Re Dogs: I think it depends on the particular event. Call PH at the number above to inquire – just know which events you’re interested in attending b4 you call. DID U GO??

      That’s true, SC. I spoke to SMossman after & SMadison before, the No710 forum. Did u see any local bloggers in attendance?

  3. Thanks for promoting this event, Cafe! Yes, yes, everyone should go, whether or not they have a Craftsman home. It’s a real world class event. I will be showing 30+ of my California impressionist paintings at the Craftsman Expo at the Pas Convention Center on Saturday and Sunday. I’m in the aisle to the far right as you enter the Expo.