Customer Disservice III

Lemme sea…what should eye talk bout now?

What about love?

Nah…

Lettuce instead talk bout sumthing much more common: the latest installment of how the customer Disservice world turns & turns on the poor customer. This one in particular.

 

Our rosy city of Pasadena periodically holds FREE recycling/shredding events at the Rose Bowl.  One of their best government services.

Others, like the big retailer Office Max, will also do your shredding for a FEE.  At a rate per pound.  Coincidentally, I’ve used both the government and the private option.  Lemme give you my experience at Office Max.

Their current shredding rate is .79 per pound.  So, if I go with 4.25 pounds of paper the cashier will charge me a total of $3.36, for example. 

If I take that same 4.25 pounds of paper on another day, to another cashier, I could, and have, be charged $3.16, for example.

Or, that 4.25 pounds could cost me $3.95! How? Well, by another cashier is how that adds up.

I’ve been charged for the exact item, oh, lemme count the ways:

  1. For the exact pounds.
  2. Rounded to the nearest dollar.
  3. Rounded UP to the next dollar

 

I asked one cashier why he was charging me a certain way.  Then I told him my previous experience at Office Max. He said his way was right.  Then I said the department supervisor calculated my fee another eay.  His reply was he’s the manager and he’ll just have to set the others right.  Funny that his name tag didn’t give him the title of manager.

But, what do I know…I’m just the customer.  And if you ever read somewhere how the customer is always right – it’s only true in the world of theory.

 

We See Genius

 

 

The Price is Not Always Right is what I’ll call this Disservice to the customer.

You think you know what the price is, but you really don’t. And the reason is because the seller also doesn’t know what their price is!  Oh, they each think they know, but you find out they really don’t.  Or, worse, they do know the right charge but hope you don’t know!

 

One method to deal with this problem is to go into a buy/sell transaction ready to switch into the “everything is negotiable” philosophy.  Everything.  Even fixed prices can be as fluid as variable depending upon the seller and your willingness to play their game for your advantage.  Which I’ve done, including with shredding!

Have you, my loyal readers/commenter’s, experienced “surprise” pricing?  How would you respond??

And so we’ve come to the end of another chapter in the unending disservice to the customer.

 

 

Gotta Rest My Head. Stay Thirsty My Friends

$?

10 responses to “Customer Disservice III

    • Your philosophy sounds similar to KB’s. Do U2 hang out together?
      Besides, then I’d feel it’s only fair I name names & address addresses in all my blog articles.

  1. Tho I suppose I should pay attention to the pennies, I don’t. I choose my battles. But I did recently win on a $200 dispute regarding my U-verse account. It required virtual screaming on every AT&T site I could find.

  2. Makes me think of the old adage, “You just can’t win.” (That’s an adage, isn’t it?)

    I think you should stick to Pasadena’s free service and forget Office Max.

    • It’s an “adage” for those who live by it, SC.
      The only downside to the free city shredding/recycling is that it’s only a every few months thing. 😦 Do u shred?