Pasadena Doo Dah Parade

 

Howdy, readers.  I attended the 35th Pasadena Doo Dah Parade (DDP) this past Saturday – Cafe Pasadena’s Believe It or Not!

As usual, I was a bit late. Which is disturbingly normal.

That I came to the parade is unusual. Some loyal readers may recall Cafe Pasadena is a parade supporter but rarely a parade goer.  I don’t feel bad since apparently the same can be said for the blogger friends I didn’t see there!  They know who they are.

There has to be a very good reason for me to wake up in the morning to catch a parade.  And there were a few goodies this year! A few whacky, but good, friends I know played significant roles this year, finally!:  Pasadena PIO Emeritus Ann Erdman was Grand Marshall, Newspaperwoman/Rock-N-Roller Michelle Mills played the part of Stephanie Edwards broadcast hostess with the mostess, and Patrizzi Intergarlictika somehow was made Queen for this Doo Dah Day!  Plus,…this wood bee the first DDP I’ve watched since they skipped their Old Pasadena location for the New Pasadena parade route!  Plenty of reasons, without any excuse, to show up.

However, please don’t get the impression I’m here to report on the 2012 DDP. I must first blog about the 32nd DDP of 2009!  You know, everything in it’s time and proper order.  Especially since I believe that was the last  DDP held in Old Town Pasadena.

But I will get to the 2012 parade version, sooner or later. Well, SOONER, of course!

 

P1740901a

The girl above was the tortilla pick em up champion of the 2012 Doo Dah Parade! Someone give her a job making tacos or on the Pasadena street maintenance department. Everyone was tossing and she was cleaning up.

 

Have you ever been to a Doo Dah Parade?  Were you among the crowd on Saturday?

 

 

Gotta Rest. Stay Thirsty My Friends

20 responses to “Pasadena Doo Dah Parade

  1. Cool! We have never been to one of these, but I had some neighbors once who were working on a float! We were out of town for this last one, but it would be fun to check out in 2013!

  2. I’m way behind on posts, too, so I appreciate a pic from 2009. Tommy and I went to Doo Dah this year. How did we miss you?! Tommy even got to eat a couple of tortillas. He was in heaven.

  3. I went once when it was in Old Town, back in the Briefcase Brigade days. Sorry I missed this one (work), but I heard there was a huge crowd so that’s good.

    • What year did u go, KB??
      This years crowd from my vantage pt seemed less than the handful of other DDP’s I’ve attended – those all in Old Towne.

  4. I went. It was my first in a good long while. But you know: like riding a bicycle. Sorry I didn’t see you. I’m pretty sure I was completely surrounded by people I used to get drunk with 25 years ago, and couldn’t quite place. Had a blast.