At The Civic

Like some of you who have websites, I have accumulated a small library of photos. Mostly insignificant and worth maybe $100 on the black market or to a public library.  As it was with Ansel Adams who thought the same about some of his own Los Angeles pictures now hanging in a gallery and fetching $2500 per print 70+ years after the fact.  Well, I’ll probably be RIP by that time with no need for even a penny.

Anyways, remember my words and The Archives of the Cafe Pasadena Collection, if the planet is still round going round & round, and you’re still around.   It will be stored deep in the catacombs of Pasadena history turning into, or gathering, dust.  Temperature, humor, & light controlled, of course.

So you can understand why it’s so difficult for me to write/blog as often as some locals.  One, I’m not a writer as you can read, two, too many bad photographs to try to pick out a decent shot.  Sure, I could write about food/restaurants and local history – my most common subjects – but I don’t wanna bore my readers.

Which brings me to some local history!

 

P1030966a

Pasadena Civic Auditorium

 

I’ve written on this historic Pasadena landmark before.  But it’s not often dressed as above as when we did a drive-by.  It was part of the original civic center trinity plan in the 1920s: Citihall, Central Library, and the Civic. Funded initially by a bond issue approved by voters.  If my memory is still sharp I believe the Civic was the last last of the triune to be completed, in 1931.  The bond funds ran short which delayed the construction.  (Old news is new news!) This was the period of the Great Depression of course.

It has risen since then to host a whole range of events.  From local to national/international events.  State of the Cities, graduations, American Idol, Tournament of Roses, world class entertainment, plays, music, televised events, and I could go on, on & on, on & on…

The famous, and the unknown, the Civic has welcomed them all here in Pasadena.  Nowadays the auditorium is  part of the Pasadena Convention Center complex.

 

I made a note to come back for a better shot of the above setup but I never did.  So I had to settle for this.  But I hope you’ll come to visit this wonderful building, especially if you’ve never been or you’re in the tourist mode.

 

Gotta Get Going! Stay Thirsty My Friends

Rose wet

8 responses to “At The Civic

  1. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent site. I stumbled upon it 😉
    I am going to return once again since i have saved it as a
    favorite. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people!

  2. I can honestly say I’ve been in the Civic many times…one of my favorite venues!!!

    Since whatever goes on the internet pretty much stays on the internet…I wonder how that will affect the value of your awesome photography in 70+ years….

    • In this internet age how it affects the value is a good question. It may mean, unlike for Ansel Adams, any thot of my works getting $2500 per shot in future years is now shot.

  3. Nice drive-by shot, Cafe. Barbara is way more cultured (does Jethro Tull qualify as culture?) than I am. I’ve only seen the Civic Center from the outside.

    I’m constantly reminded by you and the other local bloggers of all the places I need to check out in the Denas. If only they all allowed dogs…

    • Does Snoop Dog qualify as being cultured?
      You need to get out more, SC. But, Tommy is the man of your house and, understandably, the man comes first. (no pun intended)

  4. I like this photo. Colors are gorgeous, and sometimes a car window makes a good frame. Nice Christmas outfilt on the Civic. Where, I note for history’s sake, I saw The Nutcracker, Mama Mia, and Jethro Tull at different points.