The Art of Food…Tender Greens

A few months ago I mentioned here our new Pasadena Tender Greens.

At that time I knew that while the doors were now open for business, the restaurant was still awaiting some fine tuning. Namely completion of the signage, and then to fill the bare walls with works of Art!

Come this Friday evening (7pm-9pm) at Tender Greens you will be able to see the official unveiling & completion at the art reception called, “Love Pasadena.”  For some of you may I suggest that would be a good time to make your first visit to Tender Greens?

Tender Greens commissioned Chris Reccardi for a permanent installation of new art. Chris is a Pasadena artist with an appreciation for this community as you’ll note below and will see more of come Friday. But he also holds experience outside of the area in film & TV. 

When he was first working up his concepts & visions I happen to mention to him & one of the owners of TG how it would be nice if there was a Pasadena theme.  They must’ve been reading my mind because they were already on that road!  Basically I would interpret his “Love, Pasadena” artworks as following the lives of a couple of Pasadenan’s in their emotional moments with some of our historic landmarks as the colorful noire backdrop.

 

Colorado St Bridge: Chris Recarrdi

Pasadena Colorado Street Bridge

 

You will also be able to see 2 pieces of new art from Kii Arens whose art currently graces the Hollywood Tender Greens. Kii is a pop artist who has done much work in the world of  Rock n Roll art.  Among the musical acts he’s designed for: Van Halen, R.E.M., Liz Phair, & even Seal.

I hear there may even be some special food that night…uh, my attendance is probable. If you also come and I’m there, but it’s your first time, I’ll be happy to suggest what to order.

 

Come out of your hibernation and show your support for another creative part of Pasadena. Tender Greens is between Roy’s Hawaiian & the landmark (old) Bank of the West building.

 

 

Getting a Sweet Tooth. Stay Thirsty My Friends

8 responses to “The Art of Food…Tender Greens

    • I look 4ward to the daily specials. The Happy Vegan organic salad I like. But I don’t know your food tastes. I can give you more concrete suggestions if I see you Fri evening.

  1. I’ll take any excuse to come out to Tender Greens, but already have reservations at Technique down the street. However, hoping to swing by for a few minutes to look at the art. 🙂