Mystery History – Solved!

 

image

 

Well, “everyone” was stumped again.  Including my realtor friends!

This was surprising since this home is a house usually seen on historic architecture walking tours of the Prospect Park area of Pasadena.  And I know a few bloggers are said to like that sort of thing. You could also expect there might be a relatively large amount of background data on such a residence. And Yes there was, and IS.  Recent information too!  This was easily the easiest of the Mystery Histories I’ve presented thus far, imho.

Which all leads to this – the envelope please: pictured above is the house located at 781 Prospect Blvd here in Pasadena, circa 1916.  It overlooks part of the Arroyo Seco & is part of the Prospect Park Historic District (PPHD)…which a few of us have toured if I’m not mistaken.

 

 

I was prepared to go into quite a bit of the history of this house. However, since I received so little interest to this particular slice of Pasadena history, my best & wise use of time recommends I just get by with giving some of the basics of this historic residence. However, I’ll leave sources of more information for if anyone is interested, such as this very recent LATimes story on the property – Home of the Week. The Times describes it as “a treasure trove of original woodwork, leaded glass, and period lighting fixtures.”

Like several homes in the PPHD, it carries a nickname – aka, “The Hindry House”.  Named so after the first owners, Willis & Mary Hindry.  The Hindry’s were originally from Iowa & Colorado. They moved to Pasadena for health reasons, like so many others back in those days. Wonder what the #1 reason people today move to Pasadena??  Hopefully it has no connection with the increased traffic and police helicopter activity in recent years.  Willis was a mining expert & became an owner of a large gold mine in Mexico – Esperanza Mining Co.

The Craftsman/Mission Revival style. Built in 1910. (There’s that year again!)  About 6500 square feet in size.

Architects were the Heineman brothers: Alfred & Arthur.  After the Greene brothers, they were among the most influential in the Craftsman style in Pasadena. Last I checked, you can still see many of their bungalows, craftsman & other buildings here and in Los Angeles.  It’s claimed the Heineman’s had no formal architecture education or training. Well, the Heineman’s, like the Greene’s, are a book unto themselves!

Cost to build was between $17,000 to $20,000 – a very expensive price for a home in those days – but for some reason the Hindry’s only had to pay $15K for it.

Since the Hindry’s, their home has passed through several owners. As of last month, 101 years later, the home was for sale…$2.9 million. Someone reading this I’m sure appreciates this historic house, so, go ahead – life is short.

Sources: Hindry House  Tim Gregory, LA Times 

 

 

Entryway/Front Door781 Prospect-FrontDoor

 

 

Gotta Get Going! Stay Thirsty My Friends

 

18 responses to “Mystery History – Solved!

    • oh, i get it. well, KB brot this up so she mite know better what’s she’s talkin about. but i do recall old houses with stained or etched glass. including with TR. but i don’t recall any house specifically. maybe you should redo your PPk photowalk & you’ll probably find the treasure!

  1. I’m late again to MH, but I certainly would’ve been stumped along with everyone else. I haven’t taken any of the historic home tours. Have you ever considered being a guide on one of them? You’d be great!

    • SC, your lateness suggests you’ve gone to the dogs! You’ll have another chance on Tues to redeem yourself. 😛
      I have organized blogger gatherings before & helped a couple of other bloggers to do the same. There are several tours in the Pasadena area you can ck out. So I don’t feel I wood be fulfilling any unmet need. Nevertheless, there is one very famous Pasadena bldg (Not Citihall) where the docent told me, “You could give this tour!” I plan to organize a tour of that joint which almost everyone is familiar but almost everybody doesn’t know.

  2. I’m sorry I missed this one; this is my favorite kind of stuff and your post is great, CP. Was this on the tour we took with Tim R.? I honestly don’t remember it. I’ll have to see if I can find it in those pictures. We saw a lot of lovely places that day.

    • I honestly can’t recall, PDP.. I think it’s gonna bee 3yrs next mth since we stalked the winding roads of PPk. I have no fotos to ck cuz I was w/o camera that day. (Hopefully one day you’;ll give those fotos the light of your blog, btw!)

      We walked around, up & down for a while, but I doubt TR led us east/north of Rosemont – which is where the Hindry Home is. I’m more likely to say I recall us walking into a crazy mtn biker there that day than the HH. My recollection is we toured behind and to the west/north of the Gamble House. However, th Hindry House is a major piece of architecture & regularly included in home tours. Well it looks like I was long-winded in my answer.

      • I never posted them because none of them were any good. I was rushing, didn’t want to slow the group down. In time I’ve gotten better on the fly but even now I like to take my time.

        I’ll take your instructions and go explore, see if I can find the Hindry house. it looks like a behemoth!

        • KB also took some shots that day. But I don’t recall KB posting hers for public critique either. Btween the two of you, there must be at least 2-3 good pics, Yes??

          Just remember the Gamble House is on one side of Rosemont & the Hindry is on the other. It’s on Prospect BLVD. There’s a brunch of Prospects down there: ct,, blvd, terr, ln, ave, pk, st, pl, does 1-4, etc, et al! So it’s easy to think you’re in a maze. Btw, I just happen to pass by it today – unplanned but I was in the neighborhood.

  3. I don’t know either, KB. Maybe summer break has something to do with it.

    Now re the price. It does seem like a steal for the $2.9mil or whatever the asking price is today.. And if it does seem like a bargain for me, imagine how it must look for someone like you or others with real money! 🙂

    Good question re the peacock. I haven’t looked closely for that. As u say, it is all but covered up with foilage/trees which makes it difficult to know unless they had an “open house” (LoL) or some tour. My fotos are no help on this question. I will make one attempt to find out but it woodn’t surprise me if you already found your answer.

  4. I don’t know where everyone was on this MH, but they’re missing out big time.

    I figured the house would be covered in foliage today and that’s why I didn’t recognize it. Is this the place with the peacock etched in the glass door?

    If this house had been up for sale several years ago, bet the asking price would have been in the 7-8 million.

    Also, quoting these prices from 1910 makes me realize just how wealthy Huntington was. He paid $650,000 for 800 acres in what is now San Marino, and that was before the house was built.

    • Re your question: Is this the place with the peacock etched in the glass door?
      One of the owners of the Hindry Hse told me there are NO Peacocks on any doors. And the main entry door is just, “a big beautiful wooden door with a rectangular window.” I hope u can recall which home had the peacock.

      • I think I know which house it is. I don’t remember the address or what street it’s on, but I could find it. It’s a one-story, low-slung thing on a northwest corner. I think Tim told us it had undergone a lot of renovations. Does that ring any bells?

        • The address I already put in this post above, PB. And as I said previously, I don’t think TR took us to this side of Rosemont. Becuz of the foliage it’s not the best house for photographing.