Twitter, Tick, Twit, Twat, Trick, or Tweet? Disconnected!

I overheard gossip that loco blogger Petrea, my online conscience, finally gave up on de Twitter. – the internet’s “Connector.” I hope that’s true. Thank God & congratulations if she kicked that addiction. Her prayers, and mine, were answered.

P1000848

A Contrarian View from de Cafe

When I first noticed the “Follow ME on Twitter” link on her blog I thought: That’s it!! How is there ever gonna be hope this world is gonna see the light?? But, as voters have long recited since the pre-beginning of time: “Keep Hope Alive!”

Geez, did we really need to know she was tweeting on Twitter about the following, for example :

  • Taking a Photo
  • Giving orders to my husband
  • Taking orders from Boz my master
  • Getting in my Nissan
  • Being kind, patient & understanding with a fellow blogger
  • I’m actually leaving a comment
  • Replying to a comment
  • Taking another Photo
  • Rushing to a cattle, I mean, casting couch call
  • Trying to shake off the latest Paparazzi
  • Wundering what the other blogger’s are up to
  • There’s a long line for the women’s restroom. Will anyone know if I sneak into the men’s? At least I can get a Zen pic outta it
  • Being sweet, nice, and wunderful, as always
  • Returning calls from my famous celebrity friends
  • Thinking about running for Mayor
  • Thinking about how to get my dream job: Pasadena PIO!
  • The AD Hiker is bugging me, again, about doing lunch & then spending time with her afterwards staring at a sentence for a couple of hours. Can you believe it!
  • Taking a Photo
  • Retaking the previous Photo
  • Lukewarm Flashing around town
  • Deciding should I drink from the tap or the bottle
  • Trying to get the voice over dream job of GW Bush!
  • Just thinking about that Cafe Pasadena. He’s fairly smart, for a dog. Hehehe. Yep, but just for a mutt or whatever he is!!

Was this any way to bring the world together in perfect peace. love, harmony & misunderstanding? No, agree – I don’t think so. Scratch that. Well, maybe some of her groupies would wanna hang on her every keystroke. But, it’s good for all of us to be somewhat incognito.

twitter

I don’t ever see myself using the Twitter for anything. Enuf trouble dealing with the Nit Wits in my life from the politicians & their followers on up without worrying about Twits, Twats, and everything here, there, this & that – Believe It Or Not! Still, I like to try things once. So, I’m tempted by the above Tweets to give my own sample Tweets from yesterday. Unfortunately, my actual Tweets are gonna be tasteless compared to the above pseudo-Tweets.

So, a few possible Tweets from the other day if ever it comes where I’m on the Twitter:

  • In the morning into L.A. to visit a client. Gave some training to their new CFO
  • Heading back to Pasadena, but…
  • Making a quick stop to say “Hi” to owner of a cafe in Hollywood & get one of their Ice Mochas
  • Drinking Mocha in car. Pretty good!
  • Meeting with my BFF at 1pm. She just woke up at 12:30. Only becuz I called her!
  • Office working
  • BFF & Me out to lunch @ Mediterranean Cafe on South Lake Ave. (oK)
  • Returning calls/emails
  • Going to tutor a Cal Poly student in accounting
  • Watching Laker game at Novel Cafe on Colorado Blvd. Tutoring as the game permits
  • Watching girls with their guys. Wundering why these girls look unhappy or bored
  • Game over. Lakers win! & half the cafe empties out.
  • Day over – 10pm. Time to exit.

See what I mean? No matter how this story starts, slows, or stops, there are only a few possible conclusions: Do you, or I, really need to know this kinda useless information about either me, or another person! Staying connect can only go so far until you wanna just say, “Sorry, we must’ve been disconnected.” AND, besides, I already know 1st hand what a wunderful, perfect, sweet tweet Petrea is (Thanks to Goddess Margaret) without having to read all about it on the Twitter!

Never heard of Petrea, you say? How can that be. She Twitters everyday! Oh, write – she gave up righting on Twitter. Oh Twhit! I did it again. Gave her free PR again. Well, at least I’ve given the paparazzi reason to be hot on her tail.

Just blogging about twitting is giving me a headache. It’s crazy. Hell, where’s my good buddy, MG/MH , to give me a dose of good old fashioned reality & sanity when I need it?! girl_handsacrossamerica

As of now, the question for me is not, “What are YOU doing?”, but more like, “What the Hell am I doing, or not??” Ok, but YOU. If you find THE reason why I or y’all must be on the Twitter, please let me know. (Kogi BBQ Taco Truck excluded) Just leave a Tweet about it.

K, gotta get outta here. I don’t get paid for this. Got one life to live & a stomach to support…

rose

44 responses to “Twitter, Tick, Twit, Twat, Trick, or Tweet? Disconnected!

  1. I see Twitter as the introduction of the cellphone. If you give it to a 10 year old he is going to use it to talk crap, but if you give it to a business man he is going to use it to be in contact and efficient. The problem is that now technology gets to everybody and sometimes gets a bad reputation because of the misuse. I use Twitter since 2007, use it for international reasons and got a ton of great opportunities for work out of it. Now… can you follow me?

  2. I still twitter, altho’ less than I used to. For my use, it’s good for breaking local news or snarky comments about national news and pop culture. And I have a lot of fire dept/earthquake/breaking news tweeps that I follow.

    But I’ve gotten a couple of rashes of followers who (1) sell baby supplies off their website, or (2) offer paid companionship. Such an odd pairing! And I’m a pretty bad customer for either.

    Had to purge some of the people I follow. tho’, who I originally thought were interesting — the smug academic who never had an opinion that wasn’t politically correct. The woman who’s now constantly promoting her skin care products. LIfe is too damn short, even for twitter.

    But for certain folks I follow, it’s golden – I love hearing what they have to say. So I’m not givin’ it up yet!

  3. Twitter bugs me. I tried it out, I admit. I signed up, and IMMEDIATELY got turned off by the layout and the entire concept. If someone wants to know what I’m doing, they can text me, check my Facebook, or even my blog. Or for heavens sakes, give me a call! If I find something interesting I need to share, I can email it around. Twitter has no real purpose, in my opinion.

    The only bonus is you can apparently cyberstalk celebrities. But then again, I’m not a huge fan of them, either. So!

  4. Oh but Twitter is wonderful for people like me who work from home and don’t see or speak to a soul all day. I just treat it like the type of chat you might have in the office or over the garden wall but with the added bonus that you can walk away any time you choose or just switch it off.
    I didn’t expect to like it but I do.
    I hate Facebook though – such an infantile place with all those silly games and messages you get sent about people voting for you. Urgh!

    • Unreluctant Twitterer: it has potential but at this time it’s not mass appeal. Facebook same thing. There is an opening for someone to come up better versions. Until then, these are just 1st drafts & additional things to eat up our time & get us addicted to gadgets.

  5. I use Twitter and Facebook almost exclusively as communications tools — new media, if you will — providing updates to the Pasadena community about upcoming city-sponsored events, city issues, etc.

    Once in a while I post a “what I’m doing” kind of thing.

    On Twitter I’m pasadenapio and on Facebook I’m Pasadena Pio.

    I’m bothered by the number of people who seem to have nothing but time on their hands and constantly flood us with breaking news of their every move.

    • PIO, you’re the exception. The Face & Twit were especially made for you, I guess, to keep your subjects informed.
      Becca: I’d rather have you spending your time in the Kitchen cooking up tasty things. I gotta call in my order to you.
      Lisa: ?? But, yeah! to your blog. Keep on writing in the free world.

  6. MTG: I would have picked you up (if only for my 35% take on the rupeees purse).
    CO, I believe MidTownG is contasting your choice of winner in a court of law. Watch out for subpoena servers that purr.

    • Well, PA, what’s an old dog to do. There’s always a Killjoy around the corner. And the spammers. But, I thank them for bringing my comments to another level!
      Still, I should just leave this blogging to my betters.

  7. I never use “LOL.” I was laughing out loud reading this!

    I still have my account. I post occasionally, when I come across a good website or, like yesterday, when Susan C.’s story was newly posted at http://rosecitysisters.blogspot.com/. I follow Twitterers like Boston Court Theatre, for example, which posts last-minute ticket deals. That comes in handy. Vroman’s posts book info. That’s the kind of Tweeting I’m interested in.

    But no, I’m not interested in the “just got back from Starbucks again” or “I love my boyfriend” kind of junk. Although, Mike, if you were going to Tweet I might follow you because you made me LOL!

    Just another time-waster. I don’t think I’ve checked my facebook account for a month.

    • PA, but you can do another run for Rose Queen.
      KB: what’s de latest on the hangman, or your latest draft?
      kCH: Amazing compliment from you. But, the facebook has you.
      JS: Bcuz of EuroP I’m becoming a fan of Brioche bread. I love one of their Quiches but not the others. Weekend mornings have special pastries.

    • JS: I’ll have to wait until I’ve done everything else of substance in my life b4 I’ll even consider twittering de resta my life away. (Thanks for thou sweet reminder: got a few more waiting for me in de fridge!)
      SC: I’m underwhelmed by the twitter twat.

  8. I think this is a hilarious post!

    Twitter and the other social networking sites are supposed to enrich and simplify our lives, not complicate them and overwhelm them. I’m overwhelmed.

  9. Twitter works best and was meant to be a micro-blogging and micro-community tool. The problem is that people forgot the “micro” part of it and then it got hijacked by Ashton, Oprah and the like! Twitter was never meant to be a “look at me” tool. It was meant for small groups of people to communicate amongst themselves in a very controlled environment. Communicate, 2-way conversation. No one with a 1,000,000 (heck, no with a couple hundred) “followers” can have a conversation with anyone. At the beginning I was really excited about the 140 character limit as it forced you to say what you wanted to say without the fluff. Right now, Twitter is being used more as a RSS tool as opposed to a true communications tool. You know where Twitter would shine? In the classroom. A Twitter community of ONLY your professor and your classmates would be great to communicate and discuss class topics. Another great use? How about your immediate family and ONLY your immediate family. It’s faster than email, not as cumbersome as a forum, works like a text message that goes to everyone who wants to get it. The problem of course, is that everyone wants everyone to read that “OMG, LOL! Just had da best taco! 0_o :0) @}-‘-,’–“